GO!

Stray mother cat and kittens--need advice

This is a special section for cats needing new homes and for inspiring stories of cats that have found their furever home through Catster or through the love and energy of rescuers. This is also the place to discuss shelters, rescue organizations, rescue strategies, issues, solutions, etc. and how we can all help in this critical endeavor. Remember that we are all here for the love of cat! If you are posting about a cat that needs a new home, please put your location in the topic of your thread so those close by can find you! Make sure to check out Catster's cat adoption center!

Purred: Fri Sep 21, '12 11:48am PST 
Hello,
I am new to catster and new to cats. I have a stray mother cat and three kittens living behind my house. The mother has been hanging around in our neighborhood for at least a year, but this summer she decided to take up residence in our yard. This is the second litter of kittens she has had under our shed. The first litter disappeared after we saw them just a few times. This time, I decided to start feeding the mother cat--she is very thin and I wanted to make friends so I can potentially have her spayed. So I have been putting food out for about a week. She is very friendly and definitely not feral. She runs over when I bring out the food and lets me pet her and will rub against my legs. I would guess the kittens are about 4-5 weeks old. Okay, that's the background. Now for my questions:

1) I know the mother cat needs to be spayed. When is it safe to have this done, considering she is nursing three kittens?
2) I am thinking about keeping the mother cat and taking the kittens to a cat rescue shelter in our area. When is it safe for them to leave their mother?
3) Two of the kittens seem friendly, but the third one is very skittish around people. Is this a bad sign? Will it affect its ability to be adopted?

I need and appreciate any advice you can give me. Thanks!
[notify]

TGM Gimli DB- #101a