GO!

Cat up a tree, HELP!

This forum is for cat lovers seeking everyday advice and suggestions on health-related issues. Remember, however, that advice on a public forum simply can't be a substitute for proper medical attention. Only your vet can say assuredly what is best for your cat.

(Page 1 of 2: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  
Dijon

Purred: Fri Aug 31, '12 4:39pm PST 
Okay, I am not a newbie, I have managed a cat rescue for years and years and currently own a boarding kennel, and I admit, I have never seen a cat skeleton in a tree, BUT... last night Dijon, about 9 months old, escaped from my house and vanished into thin air. He is a very nervous, scardy cat anyway, and has never been outside.
Well, about noon we discovered him, 30 feet up in a tree. I have tried all the obvious, including attaching a catch pole to a long pole and trying to snag him, trying to climb the tree (impossible), and trying to lure him down with one of my other cats.
NOTHING is working, he has now gone even higher to about 50 feet and is just frozen up there, meowing and meowing.
Any ideas??? Fire department is a no (insurance purposes) we don't have a hose that will reach to where he is to spray water over him (which DOES work!) and our longest pole is only 30 feet. Our longest ladder is only 12 feet so we are STUCK!
[notify]

Macy

Super- freakey----MEOW!

Purred: Fri Aug 31, '12 8:18pm PST 
Maybe a tree cutting service? They might have a bucket lift that would go that high....
[notify]

Beatrice- (Miss You!- '94-'12)

The very Beast- of all

Purred: Fri Aug 31, '12 11:47pm PST 
That's a good idea, Macy! way to go

Have you already tried tempting him down with treats, or by standing under the tree and opening a can of tuna?

Sending purrs for little Dijon! Please keep us posted! hug

Dijon

Purred: Sat Sep 1, '12 6:49am PST 
Most tree workers, including utility, cannot help due to insurance reasons. Private ones are way, way too expensive, sadly.