GO!

Declawing?

This is a place to gain some understanding of cat behavior and to assist people in training their cats and dealing with common behavior problems, regardless of the method(s) used. Keep in mind that you may be receiving advice from other cat owners and lovers...not professionals. If you have a major problem, always seek the advice of a trainer or behaviorist!

(Page 1 of 4: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  3  4  
Lexus

I have beautiful- whiskers

Purred: Fri Jan 6, '06 1:46am PST 
My mommy asked me to post her message because she is really having a problem with me. So her it goes:
I'm really hoping you can help me, I'm about at my wits end with Lexus. I've always had dogs, so I'm really new to cats and I feel like I'd doing something wrong. How do you discipline a cat? For starters Lexus is very small (about 5#) She can leap on counters so fast and I've tried putting cookie sheets on the counters and she'll knock them over and jump off-2 minutes later she's back up there again. I have some wicker, she keeps clawing at it. She has ALOT of toys and things she should claw at, but she'd rather claw at furniture. I've sprayed her with water, and it doesn't seem to phase her. We play with her and give her alot of love. But I honestly don't know how to show her she's being bad! HELP Please. I know how vets declaw cats, and I feel its inhumane. However, she's tearing up all my nice stuff and I'm really getting upset. Any ideas? Please let me know. With dogs, I know exactly what to do....but unfortunately with cats...I have no clue.
Thanks in advance. Lexus' mom (Daina)
[notify]

Daphne

Mommy's Daffodil

Purred: Fri Jan 6, '06 3:58am PST