GO!

might be adopting a kitten soon, and need memory refreshed on raw feeding for cats

This is a dedicated place for all of your questions and answers about Raw Diets. There are also some really cool groups like "Raw Fed" on the topic you can join. This forum is for people who already know they like the raw diet or sincerely want to learn more. Please remember that you are receiving advice from peers and not professionals. If you have specific health-related questions about your cat's diet, please contact your vet!

(Page 1 of 4: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  3  4  
Tinker Bell- 2003-2006

The life of a- friend is always- too short

Purred: Fri Apr 26, '13 1:07am PST 
I've been feeding my dog raw for several years now.

From what I remember, raw for cats is the same as raw for dogs, except that beef heart is a necessity. But how much is needed? And how often? Or does it matter that much?

In any case, I probably will have to go with just partial raw. The store rarely sells any beef heart. I could buy some off MCP, but don't have the money to do that regularly enough. (There aren't any pick-up locations anywhere near my state even, and the shipping to my house would be like at least twice as much as the price for the item.)
[notify]

Greebo

Purred: Fri Apr 26, '13 6:35am PST 
Heart is important because it has a large concentration of taurine, but it doesn't have to be BEEF heart. The hearts of any animal have lots of taurine and chicken hearts are pretty easy to find at grocery stores/Walmart.

I'll have to leave the "how often" to someone else, though I think that as long as the other muscle meats you're feeding aren't low in taurine (like rabbit or chicken breasts)that it should provide enough for a cats needs. Mine gets a chicken heart almost every day, but that's mostly because he loooves them and they're snack sized.
[notify]

BK

Ambassador at- the Kitty U.N.

Purred: Fri Apr 26, '13 7:21am PST