GO!

Kittens playing aggressively ?

Got a new, young, furry love in your life? This is the place for you to ask all of your questions - big or small! Just remember that you are receiving advice from other cat owners and lovers... not professionals. If you have a major problem, always seek the advice of a vet or behaviorist! Most important is to remember to have fun with your new fur baby.

Purred: Mon Nov 14, '11 2:47pm PST 
Hello,

I'm new to Catster and new to kittens. I have two kittens , a male (16 weeks) and female (14 weeks).
I brought them home together, and they are quite playful and close. I've only had them home for 5 days. but they've gotten comfy quite quickly and play A LOT.
However the boy is MUCH larger than the girl (he's possibly double her size, she's small), and today for the 1st time while they were play-fighting he got rough with her and she clearly didn't like it, she shrieked and ran away from him. this happened twice today. Is this normal ? I'm worried about him unknowingly hurting her. He's not aggressive and it quite socialized and sweet. But he's playing aggressivley and it's starting to bother her. Should I worry about this ? cry
[notify]

Purred: Tue Nov 15, '11 5:42pm PST 
Anyone please? I just want to ensure their safety...also off-topic I signed up but am not quite sure why I keep getting posted as a guest thinking I don't see the option to post as a user.
[notify]

Ralphie & Randy

Purred: Wed Nov 16, '11 9:38am PST 
In my limited experience, they figure out their limits and learn to communicate with one another. If she's running away and shrieking, he'll learn that he's crossing a line and being too rough. I would supervise their play sessions for a while to make sure she is able to always get away from him if she wants and that neither of them are getting injured, but it doesn't sound worrisome to me. Kitten play seems so violent and not fun at all, but that's how they play!