GO!

I'm a new pet mom...

This forum is for cat lovers seeking everyday advice and suggestions on health-related issues. Remember, however, that advice on a public forum simply can't be a substitute for proper medical attention. Only your vet can say assuredly what is best for your cat.

Mittens

Purred: Sun Sep 8, '13 1:11pm PST 
hi, we have a little 12 week old girl name mittens. this is our first time as adults having pets and we want her to grow up healthy. what kinds of things should i be looking out for as kittens? how often should i take her for check ups? she is an indoor cat so would she need all her shots?

Basically, any advice would be welcomed. i know my questions are kinda all over the place but im just new with this.
[notify]

Mordred,PAWS

No Not-Moms!!!!

Purred: Sun Sep 8, '13 2:57pm PST 
First, welcome to the wonderful world of cats and to Catster! Mittens is blessed to have a mom wise enough to ask for advice. smile

She should be checked out by your own vet; if you don't have one, ask your pet-owning friends or neighbors to recommend one. On your first visit, be certain that you feel comfortable with the hospital and its staff; if there's anything that doesn't seem right, look elsewhere. The vast majority of pet hospitals are clean and well run by caring and competent people, but every great once-in-a-while, someone runs into another kind.

Mittens should be thoroughly examined, especially for internal parasites. If she's truly indoor-only (good for you!!), she won't need rabies unless it's the law in your state. She should have the "combo" shot (distemper/calcivirus - and one I can't remember. shrug) Bloodwork at her age isn't necessary but would do no harm.

Don't use clumping litter in her box until she's about 6 months old. Kittens, like babies, like to "taste" things; if clumping litter gets into her system, it could harden and cause a blockage, which necessitates surgery.