Ratings and Reviews

Reviews


Bark & Bling [view the full listing]

2600Alta Arden Suite B
Sacramento, CA 95825
(916) 974-7297

 
4posted: September 18th, 2007

Too bad I'm not a poodle or pitbull


So Mom and Dad finally made it down to check out this shop. It's parked right next door to Launder Dog, so if you are looking for a place to buy food in Sac, this is a good spot. Okay, Bark and Bling. Well besides being a hole in the wall, they seem to cater to those with either mini-doggies or hell hounds. There wasn't much there for kittehs. If you like dressing your dog this seemed like a good place to get your couture fix. They had a small bakery display with some fancy looking cookies and a guy behind the counter that couldn't put three words together that made sense. Get some cat stuff and get rid of the not-funny zombie behind the counter and perhaps we'll be on.

 

Country Veterinary Clinic [view the full listing]

4839 E. Butte Rd
Live Oak, CA 95953
(530) 674-1660

 
4posted: September 4th, 2007

Horses, Cows and Kitties! Oh my!


So the name basically says it all. It's a country vet. They serve horses, cows, and other large animals as well as kitties and dogs. My Dad took his first kitty Tabitha here for a while. They were pretty nice, but it wasn't the most personal office. The scenery around the place is lovely though. They have a fairly hi-tech facility and the main vet there is highly regarded. It's a long way for us to go so Mom and Dad found a great vet in town that they like more and we get treated like royalty! They likes us cuz were pretty and different. If you has a horse or pet piggy, you should take a look here.

 

North Vly Vtrnary Emrgncy Svce [view the full listing]

2525 Dominic Dr Ste A
Chico, CA 95928
(530) 899-1720

 
5posted: September 4th, 2007

When you need care 24/7!


So my Grandma has a dog named Lindsey. She's a pretty good dog as far as dogs go. Grandma is a gardener and had been killin' snails with some bait stuff. She made the mistake of leaving it out. Lindsey thought it smelled and tasted pretty good and nearly ate the entire box! When my Grandma found her, she was convulsing and barely able to move. She rushed her to her vet, and they took care of her all day. But it was the weekend and she needed overnight care, so they made Grandma take her here. Apparently this is the only place in the North Valley that will take care of your animals through the night and on the weekends. They more or less saved Lindsey's life. She was blind for a little while, but her sight came back and she made a full recovery in time. It scared us all very bad. We love Lindsey and couldn't imagine her gone. This place provides a service that sadly isn't available anywhere else here. I hope your doggies and kitties never have to go here, but if they do they will try very hard to fix them up.

 

PetSmart North Sacramento [view the full listing]

3641 Truxel Road
Sacramento, CA 95834
(916) 928-0314

 
2posted: September 4th, 2007

Big box store...


So several years ago my Dad adopted a very small kitten from here. It had been put in a cage with some older cats that were beating on it and preventing it from eating enough food. Being the poor animal sap that he is, he decided to adopt her. He said she was about 4-5 weeks tops when he got her. She had supposedly been tested and was ready to go. What he didn't anticipate was undiagnosed illness. When he took her to her forever vet she was diagnosed positive for feline leukemia. Furious he contacted the PetSmart and the rescue they worked with. As luck would have it, they wouldn't even respond. It was rough as Dad had another older kitty that probably shouldn't have been exposed to this, but there wasn't much to do at this point but to test those waters. She lived for nearly three years before the disease got the best of her. Poor Sasha got very ill, had to be hand fed, and given IV fluids and drugs before she was simply too weak to care for herself. At that point Dad thought it best to give kitty some relief. The story here is that PetSmart while trying to make a minor difference in the community didn't stand very tall with their partners on this one. They simply vanished into the red tape. Stores like this often do and it's why I try very hard not to support them. For those that read this review. When adopting a kitten do some homework, quarantine your new animals from your old ones and by all means pay a few bucks to a trusted vet to do some basic health tests and checks to make sure your match is healthy for your family. Don't rely on what someone tells you. While sick animals need homes too, you shouldn't risk the health of your other animals for the one.

 

Paws For Cats & Dogs [view the full listing]

432 N Main St
Fort Bragg, CA 95437
(707) 964-3322

 
5posted: September 4th, 2007

Cute little boutique by the ocean


Mom and Dad have told us about this place and it seems really nice for such a small town. Apparently these nice people moved there to open it and have put a lot of work into finding the coolest, trendiest things for cats and dogs. It's really a great place and only a few doors away from Eggheads (the best breakfast ANYWHERE!).

 

Doubletree Hotel & Executive Meeting Center Berkeley Marina [view the full listing]

200 Marina Boulevard
Berkeley, CA 94710
15105487920

 
5posted: September 4th, 2007

Mom and Dad approve!


Mom and Dad went to a concert in Berkeley last year and stayed here. They said it was really nice with a great view of the ocean. It\'s right next to this big park where lots of cool people hang out and fly kites. Sometimes sees people fishing, but I wonder what they catch there. Probably VD. Still very nice place to stay, and they give the hoomans chocolate chip cookies when you arrive.

 

Cody's Books [view the full listing]

4th St
Berkeley, CA 94710

 
4posted: September 4th, 2007

Me see no dogs, but lots of books


This is a really nice book store, but I didn't see any doggies there. I'm glad to hear they are friendly toward us four legged ones. Did I mention this is a nice place to hang out. Not here specifically, but this general area. It's quite nice with lots of great little shops and eateries. There are even doggie and kitty places that really nice. You should get your Moms or Dad to take you.

 

Diggidy Dog [view the full listing]

Mission at Ocean Avenue
Carmel By The Sea, CA 93923

 
5posted: August 30th, 2007

Fancy and fun


Mom and Dad liked this place a lot. Tons of unique non-box store things that appeal to people on their vacations. Especially when they feel guilty for not bringing us with them. Losers. Stop here, you won't regret it.

 

George - Berkeley [view the full listing]

1844 4th Street
Berkeley, CA 94710
(510) 644-1033

 
5posted: August 30th, 2007

Very nice and stylish


I like this place. They know how to appeal to people and pets. It seemed to be the place to hang out with your doggies on a weekend as there were tons of them stinkers. Very nice and unique toys for kittahs and dogs. Also great to just walk around the area shops and eat.

 

The Total Dog [view the full listing]

26366 Carmel Rancho Ln
Carmel, CA 93923
83162455

 
4posted: August 30th, 2007

Fancy but expensive


Mom and Dad went there last fall. They had lots of nice toys of the higher-end, higher-priced variety, but were unique. They bought lots of little stuffs for the dogs and some other toys for friends. It's worth the visit, just make sure your bank account is prepared. There's also this nice little place down there that has fresh scones and the most wonderful eggs benedict.

 

Petco [view the full listing]

1878 Arden Way
Sacramento, CA 95815
(916) 923-1082

 
3posted: August 30th, 2007

Meh, it's a Petco


You know I've seen a lot of Petco's and for the most part they are all about the same. This one is a little better. I'm not certain why, only that they seem to be more active with the local rescues and their critters seem happier and healthier than most Petco's. Still, there are much better places to patronize.

 

Bird Shop [view the full listing]

5553 Auburn Blvd
Sacramento, CA 95841
(916) 338-0505

 
4posted: August 29th, 2007

Do the bird!


While I don't neccessarily think that Mom and Dad should get a bird, unless they want me to eat it. Dad said it's a nice place to see tropical birds. They have lots of parrots and a neat little nursery on site where the little birdies are born. Dad used to go in there to get food for his flying squirrel before poor Helen passed on. I'll bet she smelled yummy!

 

Pet Connection [view the full listing]

4534 Auburn Boulevard
Sacramento, CA 95841
4877387

 
1edited: August 29th, 2007

A bad place for animals to end up.


Dad says this place should be closed and that the owners are some of the more irresponsible people in the pet business. It doesn't take more than a few glances around inside to know that the animals that are unlucky enough to end up aren't being treated very well. Dad said he made the mistake of going in there around x-mas one year only to find piles of puppies in little cages often sitting in their own pee and poops. It smells bad, it's dirty, and the people working there have no real interest in the animals, only money that uninformed humans drop in there. Avoid this place, or I will tell Dad. It's kind of ironic that their website is www.petscomehere.com It would be a little more honest if it was www.petscomeheretodie.com.

posted: August 29th, 2007

1 pet found this review helpful

 

Reigning Cats & Dogs [view the full listing]

5617 H St
Sacramento, CA 95819-3329
(916) 455-5619

 
5posted: August 29th, 2007

Pampered animals only please.


So Mom and Dad liked to go by here after they visit Happy Trails kitty rescue a couple doors down. This place is full of very nice dog and cat themed trinkets as well as nice toys, beds and other assorted gear for your pampered animals. Dad says they are always nice and that he tries to support them by buying a little something each visit. I kinda wish he'd go more often. Make sure you go by Happy Tails when you go here. The homeless kitties need your love and money too.

 

Dog Show Specialties [view the full listing]

301 Richards Blvd
Sacramento, CA 95814
(916) 443-8131

 
5posted: August 29th, 2007

It's a big big place!


They carry it all. If you are looking for a place to find products for your cat and dog, this is a great place to stop at. They also carry professional products that industry people might use.

 

PetSmart [view the full listing]

65 Colusa Avenue
Yuba City, CA 95991
(530) 822-0623

 
3posted: August 28th, 2007

It's a big big place with lots of stuff.


Mom and Dad aren't big fans of chain stores like this, but there are times when it's nice to have one nearby. For the most part you can find just about any mainstream pet supply here. It's not much for boutique items, but they have plenty of mass-market stuff at okay prices. The staff here isn't very helpful. Most don't know that much about animals, but there are some exceptions. I'll give PetSmart this: They help lots of doggies and kitties around the US in their rescues and charities, so it makes me feel a little better about Mom and Dad's money being spent there. There are still better local places to spend your money and you should only go there as a last resort.

 

Marysville Veterinary Hospital [view the full listing]

1530 B St
Marysville, CA 95901
(530) 742-8809

 
4posted: August 28th, 2007

A solid vet office


Mom and Dad used to take the dogs here. They have a really nice facility, but it's hard to know who you are going to see. Mom and Dad say they have seen a different vet everytime they have gone in there. Mom and Dad had a bad experience. Our patriarch Rusty was really sick and he had to go to the big sleep. The front office staff made them wait for a very long time and weren't very sorry. It wasn't the first time they waited a long time after making an appointment. They don't go there anymore, but it's not a bad vet.

 

Gaiser Pets [view the full listing]

714 Plumas Street
Yuba City, CA 95991
(530) 751-8155

 
5posted: August 28th, 2007

Last of a dying breed


This is one of two places Mom and Dad go to that they actually like. It's kind of a boutique style pet shop that reminds me of an earlier time. The staff is very kind, but busy, so you sometimes have to wait for someone to help you. They always have unique dog and kitty toys for enthusiasts. Dad says that they need people to support them more since the lame-box stores moved in. I don't know what that means exactly, but he says the box stores don't care about animals, just money. Gaiser has a very caring staff and it shows. Just be careful to do research on any pet you intend to buy to make certain you want it and you know how to take care of it. On occassion Dad says they give incorrect advise.

 

Madison Ave Veterinary Clinic [view the full listing]

8520 Madison Ave
Fair Oaks, CA 95628
(916) 961-1541

 
5posted: August 24th, 2007

Bestest vet we never got to go to.


Dad tolds me about this place. He really think a lot of Dr. Slevin and Dr. Brick. They used to take care of some animals for him a long time ago before me. Dad's says Dr. Slevin is the most caring and kind vet he's ever met. They specialize in small animals like kitties, doggies, lizards (yum!), and especially ferrets.

 

Launder Dog [view the full listing]

2600 Alta Arden
Sacramento, CA 95825
(916) 979-9274

 
5posted: August 24th, 2007

Good foods!


Mom and Dad used to buy foods here before they got it closer to home. It's a good place, and stinky dogs can go there to get washed-up.

 

Northpointe Veterinary Hospital [view the full listing]

1463 Live Oak Blvd
Yuba City, CA 95991
(530) 674-8670

 
5posted: August 24th, 2007

Dr. Mullins is the best!


I got very sick earlier this week and Mom and Dad rushed me over there afterhours to get helps. They got home from work and saw that I was in distress. They were able to call the vet and have them stay open for me. Doctor Mullins fixed my fever and gave me medicines. He also called Mom and Dad at home to check up on me twice. Mom and Dad also says that he takes lots of time to explain things. I trust him lots to make sure I live a long, happy life. He also takes care of Sis, the smelly dogs and my cousins.

 

Petco [view the full listing]

1110 Harter Road
Yuba City, CA 95993
(530) 674-1816

 
2posted: August 24th, 2007

Dad saw something bad there!


We don't get to go there too often because Dad saw an employee smack a tank full of Rats with her big ol' keyring meanly. He found out she was the MANAGER! What kind of place that's supposed to love pets does a think like that? If you need foodz and toys go to Pawformance or Geiser Pets. Box pet store doesn't care so much.

 

Pawformance / King Wholesale [view the full listing]

4013 Colusa Hwy
Yuba City, CA 95993
(530) 674-1467

 
5posted: August 24th, 2007

Bestest place in Yuba City!!!


Mom and Dad always come back from Pawformance with all kinds of great goodies. They get our Wellness food there and the dumb dogs Solid Gold food. They have tasty treats and the best little rattly fur mice anywhere. I know when they go there that they are getting the best for us. Tell them we says hi! Heather best owner too.

 

Lucky Pierres Dog Grooming [view the full listing]

5957 Lindhurst Ave
Marysville, CA 95901
(530) 741-2309

 
5posted: August 24th, 2007

Shaving Shadow


So my stinky dog brother Shadow went their last month for a cut. He's a Samoyed so he's got lots of hair. It got matted over the years and Mom and Dad couldn't get them out, so they had him shaved. He looks so funny, but they were really nice to him and were gentle even though he probably embarassed himself lots. He's kind of a big dork. Lucky Pierres is pretty nice, with nice people. If you need some fine tuning go there.