Ratings and Reviews

Reviews


Roxys Pet Depot [view the full listing]

8437 Honore Avenue
Bradenton, FL 34201
94135930

 
5posted: February 27th, 2007

Great selection.


Friendly staff and a great selection of supplies to choose from. Good prices as well.

 

Pet Bizaar Inc [view the full listing]

11250 Park Blvd
Seminole, FL 33772
72739817

 
3posted: February 27th, 2007

Mostly for small pets.


Most of this store contains small pet supplies and not dog or cat supplies, though they do have a few of those. Due to all the gerbils and hamsters and other critters, the store does have a bit of a stink.

 

My Pets Dream [view the full listing]

2516 N McMullen Booth Rd Ste A
Clearwater, FL 33761
72779122

 
5posted: February 27th, 2007

Unique accessories and items.


This store is a little expensive, but they carry some of the most adorable pet clothes and accessories I've seen. They also carry a few premium brands of pet food, and the staff is friendly and helpful.

 

Bark & Browse [view the full listing]

5114 Gulfport Blvd
Gulfport, FL 33707
72732722

 
5posted: February 27th, 2007

Great selection!


This store has a great selection of pet supplies - from some of the harder-to-find premium food brands to books and collars. Their staff is also very friendly and knowledgeable. This is one of my favorite stores.

 

Bensons Canine Cookies [view the full listing]

2928 S Florida Ave
Lakeland, FL 33803
86368892

 
4posted: February 27th, 2007

A little pricey.


Has a large selection, and specializes in a homemade dog treat, which our dog loves (but he loves just about anything, LOL). However, it's a bit more expensive than regular stores are.

 

Animal Appeal All Breed Pet Grooming [view the full listing]

5709 Happy Tails Ln
Lutz, FL 33558
81396175

 
5posted: February 27th, 2007


Good prices, friendly staff. I highly recommended them.

 

Lynns Fish and Pets [view the full listing]

5321 S Florida Ave
Lakeland, FL 33813
86364433

 
4posted: February 27th, 2007

Knowledgeable fish staff.


We went in to buy fish from them, and they were very helpful in answering our questions. They also offered a large selection of pet supplies.

 

Pet City [view the full listing]

13154 Cortez Blvd
Brooksville, FL 34613
35259721

 
5posted: February 27th, 2007

Helpful, friendly staff.


The staff is very helpful and knowledgeable and spent time with us to explain things. They are also willing to order products for you that they do not carry in their store. Good prices as well.

 

Bps Tropical Pets [view the full listing]

6046 14th St W
Bradenton, FL 34207
94175801

 
4posted: February 27th, 2007

A little pricey, but good selection.


The store is clean and their selection is good, but their prices are a little high, and you can buy virtually the same thing at Walmart or a chain pet store for cheaper.

 

Pets & Pisces Inc [view the full listing]

7338 Gall Blvd
Zephyrhills, FL 33541
81378323

 
5posted: February 27th, 2007

Knowledgeable staff, great service.


Very good prices with a staff that knows what they're talking about.

 

Fish & Other Ichthy Stuff [view the full listing]

105 Fairfield St
Oldsmar, FL 34677
81389142

 
5posted: February 27th, 2007

Top notch store.


Clean store with a great variety of healthy saltwater fish. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the store itself was organized and easy to navigate.

 

American Pet Supply [view the full listing]

23020 SR 54
Lutz, FL 33549
81390977

 
3posted: February 27th, 2007

Small, not much variety.


This was a very small store, and carried only the basics and not much more.

 

Ponds & Purchase [view the full listing]

1942 Bruce B Downs Blvd
Wesley Chapel, FL 33543
81390701

 
4posted: February 27th, 2007

Overpriced.


A little overpriced, but their staff does know what they're talking about and is very helpful. Some things are cheaper at Lowes or Home Depot, though.

 

Ehrlich Animal Hospital [view the full listing]

8009 Gunn Hwy
Tampa, FL 33626
(813) 920-0566

 
4posted: February 27th, 2007

Nice clinic, friendly vets.


Friendly staff and a well-maintained clinic. Prices are reasonable as well.

 

Animal House Pet Center [view the full listing]

413 62nd Ave N
St Petersburg, FL 33702
72752796

 
5posted: February 27th, 2007

Cheaper than Petsmart.


I found this store to be cheaper than Petsmart for many supplies. They also have a very large selection to choose from, and almost anything you need, they'll have.

 

Dog Lovers [view the full listing]

14330 N. Dale Mabry Hwy
Tampa, FL 33618
81396286

 
3posted: February 27th, 2007

Very overpriced.


Good selection of dog supplies and knowledgeable, friendly staff, but extremely overpriced. However, they do have unique items that you won't find anywhere else.

 

Marine Warehouse Aquarium [view the full listing]

8021 W Hillsborough Ave
Tampa, FL 33615
81388407

 
4posted: February 27th, 2007

WOW.


I've never seen such a large selection of fish in one store before. Along with that, they have virtually everything you could possibly need or want for fish. Only downside to their large size is that there's always some fish in sub-par conditions. However, most are fine and the prices are good.

 

Westside Aquarium & Pets [view the full listing]

3409 S Dale Mabry Hwy
Tampa, FL 33629
81383947

 
5posted: February 27th, 2007

Great fish selection!


Large selection of fish with a staff that actually knows what they're talking about. Good store, prices, and service.

 

Suburban Feed & Pet Supplies [view the full listing]

9722 SR 52
Hudson, FL 34669
72786842

 
4posted: February 27th, 2007

Overpriced, but good selection.


Several of their items are overpriced - you can buy the same thing at Walmart or a chain store for considerably less. However, they do have a good selection, particularly for those looking for horse supplies.

 

Animal Inn Pet Resort [view the full listing]

39564 Us Highway 19 N
Tarpon Springs, FL 34689
72794236

 
5posted: February 27th, 2007

Clean facilities and good price.


The animals all seem content here, and the staff is friendly and caring. There's also a vet in the same building, so there's that peace of mind.

 

Cortez Animal Clinic [view the full listing]

4020 Cortez Rd W
Bradenton, FL 34210
(941) 756-2990

 
4posted: February 27th, 2007

Good vet.


We used them once a year or so ago. They were very helpful and caring and their staff seemed to know what they're doing.

 

Humane Society of Tampa Bay [view the full listing]

3607 N Armenia Ave
Tampa, FL 33607
81387671

 
5posted: February 27th, 2007

Wonderful place to adopt from.


This staff truly cares about their animals, and takes the time to screen and get to know you to ensure that their animals are going to someone who will give them the best in life, and not end up right back in the shelter. Their animals are also kept in very good conditions.

 

Scales Exotic Pets [view the full listing]

1223 Kingsway Rd
Brandon, FL 33511
81366177

 
5posted: February 27th, 2007

Knowledgeable, friendly staff.


Great place to buy from. We found supplies here that we could not find ANYWHERE else we looked. Good prices as well.

 

Aquarium Creations [view the full listing]

424 W Brandon Blvd
Brandon, FL 33511
81364361

 
5posted: February 27th, 2007

FINALLY! A knowledgeable fish staff.


It's refreshing to go in here. The staff always know what they're talking about (unlike the chain stores) and give good advice. The best part is - they're reasonably priced!

 

Harolds Feed & Pet Supply [view the full listing]

12990 Dr Martin Luther King Jr Blvd
Dover, FL 33527
81368915

 
5posted: February 27th, 2007

Good place to shop.


Very helpful staff and a very reasonably-priced store to shop at. Everyone is very friendly and helpful.

 

Bloomingdale Pet Supply [view the full listing]

3110 Lithia Pinecrest Rd
Valrico, FL 33594
81366292

 
5posted: February 27th, 2007

Very helpful staff.


This is the only place that sells the Chicken Soup brand around here, so we're in there about once a month or so to buy it. The staff is very friendly and helpful and their prices are reasonable. They'll also order food for you if they don't carry it, and will call you when it comes in. Great place to shop.

 

Creature Castle [view the full listing]

1935 W. Brandon Blvd
Brandon, FL 33511
8136813

 
2posted: February 27th, 2007

A bit of a dump.


Every time we've been in there, their conditions have not been the most sanitary, and we make an effort to not shop there due to their selling of puppies, which we've never supported. Only thing they have going for them is their large fish selection, which is not available at the chain stores. Though their staff is fairly incompetent at catching fish - we stood there for 45-minutes while they chased them around, then finally got fed up and caught it ourself in less than a minute. (This has happened several times) Better to buy from a store that knows what they're doing.

 

Florida Veterinary Specialists [view the full listing]

3000 Busch Lake Boulevard
Tampa, FL 33614
81393389

 
5posted: February 26th, 2007

Can't rate them highly enough.


If you're in need of emergency services or a veterinary specialist for your pet, FVS is the best. Their staff is truly concerned about your situation and their empathy and caring is sincerely outstanding. What took our regular vet five hours to do (and ended up with no diagnosis) took them two hours to do, and they could accurately tell us what was wrong and our dog started being his regular self again the very next day. Very very good if you need a specialty vet.

 

Uncle Gs Bed & Biscuit [view the full listing]

1821 Stephens Ln
Dover, FL 33527
(813) 689-6725

 
5posted: February 26th, 2007

Great groomers!


We used them for years to groom our Old English Sheepdog, and they were always so friendly and caring and did an awesome job with her. Highly recommended!

 

Hillsborough County Animal Services [view the full listing]

440 Falkenburg Road
Tampa, FL 33619
(813) 744-5685

 
3posted: February 26th, 2007


We've adopted three animals from this shelter - Sampson, Norah, and Desi. Norah and Desi both contracted FIP and had to be euthanized, despite being indoor-only cats. This is something that was probably picked up during their stay at this shelter, and despite the rarity of the disease, it was the third case we have personally heard of that occured to a cat from this shelter. Therefore, I would not recommend adopting a young cat (under two) from this shelter unless the risk of FIP wants to be taken. When our vet contacted them after Norah died, she told them what needed to be done to kill the virus, and apparently, after Desi's death, they did not take precautions to do so. However, their conditions are superior to other shelters that we have seen, and I most likely will adopt another dog or older cat from them in the future. Their staff is also very friendly and caring, and was happy to provide background information and their observations about the animals and their personalities.

 

Animal Medical Diagnostic Center [view the full listing]

1102 Bloomingdale Ave
valrico, FL 33594

 
1posted: February 26th, 2007

Worst vet we've ever been to.


The last time we used this vet was for a second opinion on our cat, Norah, when our regular vet did not know what was wrong with her. They charged us $300+ for x-rays and fees, and told us she had a broken tailbone, sending us home with expensive medications. We later took her to a specialist, where they did x-rays (this would be her third set of x-rays) and the specialist, like the first vet, did NOT find anything broken in their x-rays (it turned out to be FIP). Yet this vet told us there was a break. Would've been OK had they said they didn't know what was wrong, but to tell us the tailbone was broken when there was no proof of it was outrageous and a waste of money. Wouldn't recommend these guys when there's better vets minutes away that don't waste your time and money.

1 pet found this review helpful

 

Care Animal Hospital [view the full listing]

511 E Bloomingdale Ave
Brandon, FL 33511
(813) 684-7387

 
5posted: February 26th, 2007

Great vets!


One of the best veterinarians in the area. They do their best to help both patients and owners alike, and when we had to put our Desi to sleep, they took the time to pass a sympathy card around the staff and mailed it to us - a gesture that none of our other vets have ever taken the time to do. Very caring, knowledgeable staff that know what they're doing.