Ratings and Reviews

Reviews


Animal Friends 2643 Penn Avenue [view the full listing]

2643 Penn Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15201
4125662103x289

 
5posted: November 15th, 2007

They've moved


Animal Friends has moved to new facilities on Camp Horne Road that are wonderful. This is a great organization and were the first no-kill in the area.

 

Duncan Manor Animal Hospital [view the full listing]

1720 Ferguson Rd
Allison Park, PA 15101
(412) 326-9961

 
5posted: May 1st, 2007

Quick response for an unknown kitty


First, let me say that this is not our veterinary practice, but I wanted to commend the vet and staff at DMAH for their caring and quick response in an emergency. We came upon a kitty who had been hit by a car and left in the road to die. We put him in our car, knowing he was in bad shape and headed to the first vet we knew in the area - DMAH. When we pulled in and told them what happened the staff jumped into action - took the kitty right into a room and called the doctor. They were only concerned with the kitty - no questions asked. The poor cat died and even though he was not mine, they took me in a room and the vet spoke with me about his injuries. They kept the kitty and said they would find his owner because he had a tag from another vet. The only thing they asked of me was where I found him. I commend them on their compassion.

 

Healthy Pet Products [view the full listing]

8122 Perry Highway
Pittsburgh, PA 15237
(412) 366-0700

 
5posted: April 13th, 2007

Great store!


This store carries all of the high quality brands of cat and dog food, both canned and dry. Tom, the owner, is very knowledgeable about the products he sells, including where they are manufactured in most cases. He will special order larger quantities, if not in stock. He also often has samples of various products if you just want to try them out before buying a larger quantity. His prices are competitive even with the big stores. This is a great place that carries brands you just can't find in the major pet stores.

 

Bakerstown Animal Hospital [view the full listing]

5814 William Flynn Highway
Bakerstown, PA 15007
(724) 443-8200

 
4posted: February 22nd, 2007

We only went once


We didn't really like this place much. We were in the market for a new vet at the time, having come off a bad experience with another. They have a brand new facility that is very nice. But the office staff were very cold and not friendly at all - it was like they couldn't be bothered to say hello. The vet we had seemed competent enough, but only spoke to my mom. My sibling was very nervous and the vet didn't talk to her or pet her.

1 pet found this review helpful

 

House Calls Veterinary Service [view the full listing]

166 McFann Road
Valencia, PA 16059
(724) 898-7833

 
4edited: May 1st, 2007

Nice vet, and they make house calls


Although they have a small office, Dr. Kevin Catt (yep, that's his name!) is very nice with cats. We only used this vet for a short time due to the distance. But know he was helpful with another friend's cat. They also have a mobile service that will come to you. Of course, there is an additional fee, but it is not bad and can be really helpful for multi-pet families, elderly or sick pets, or those that hate to travel.

posted: February 22nd, 2007

 

Petco [view the full listing]

20111 Route 19
Cranberry Township, PA 16066
(724) 779-9003

 
5posted: February 22nd, 2007

Great store


This is a great Petco location. It is a large store, well-stocked, with large aisles. I love this store.

 

Pet Supplies Plus [view the full listing]

4714 McKnight Rd
Pittsburgh, PA 15237
(412) 369-7530

 
3edited: February 23rd, 2007

Get hard to find food here


The store is a little dingy and the staff aren't the nicest, but you can find certain brands of catfood here that are hard to find anywhere else. They carry a pretty big selection.

posted: February 22nd, 2007

 

Bakerstown Feed & Garden Center [view the full listing]

5820 Route 8
Bakerstown, PA 15007
(724) 443-760

 
5edited: February 22nd, 2007

Wellness brand


This is one of the only places that carries Wellness brand catfood. They have a good selection of it, too. This is a locally owned store and the staff is really helpful.

posted: February 22nd, 2007

 

Petco [view the full listing]

4801 McKnight Rd
Pittsburgh, PA 15237
(412) 366-1866

 
5posted: February 22nd, 2007

We visit often


We get lots of things at Petco, our dry catfood, toys, and treats. We like that they have cats that visit from a local shelter. Many find good homes this way. In fact, this is where we got my brother, Lewis! We also buy litter there that we can refill in the same containers, so we don't make more trash for the landfills.

 

Harts Run Veterinary Hospital [view the full listing]

728 Dorseyville Rd
Pittsburgh, PA 15238
(412) 963-8889

 
5edited: February 22nd, 2007

Dr. Betsy Kennon


Dr. Kennon has been our vet for about 15 years. She is very, very nice to us and always makes a point of talking to us and calming us. She always calls me by my name and tells me how handsome I am! She explains things to us and answers all of mom's questions. She always recommends what she thinks is best for us and calls us at home to check on us if we have been sick.

posted: February 22nd, 2007

 

Butler mem [view the full listing]

882 pittsburgh Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15223

 
5edited: February 23rd, 2007

Pittsburgh Veterinary Specialists


A group of veterinary specialists; they are excellent diagnosticians and surgeons. Our vet referred us to them to have a condition diagnosed and for surgery. The facilities have state of the art equipment.

posted: February 22nd, 2007

1 pet found this review unhelpful

 

Veterinary Emergency Clinic [view the full listing]

882 Butler St.
Pittsburgh, PA 15223
(412) 492-985

 
4edited: February 23rd, 2007

Emergency Care


We have used EVC for emergencies and have had good experiences, considering that the reason we are there is usually quite stressful. We think the doctors are competent. They are also affiliated with Pittsburgh Veterinary Specialists. This is the only local emergency clinic in our area. They are open only during evening, weekend, and holiday hours when regular vet offices are closed.

posted: February 22nd, 2007