Ratings and Reviews

Reviews


Kelli's Kritter Kare [view the full listing]

1135 W. Windjammer Drive
Gilbert, AZ 85233
(480) 516-4334

 
5posted: December 7th, 2007

A+ for Kelli's Kritter Kare!


Need complex medicines while your pawrents are away? Never fear: the awesome people at Kelli's Kritter Kare will make sure you are taken care of. The mother of this team spent several years working in a veterinary practice and she is GREAT about giving medications. In fact, she has been giving me my fluids for several months now. She really really loves animals, as does her daughter, and they are excellent pet-sitters. Mommy is very particular about who cares for me, and she says Beth and Kelli are A#1! They also do overnight stays and for those active doggies out there, Beth will even take them on little hikes if you so desire. If you need a pet sitter, call Kelli's!

 

Saving Animals from Euthanasia (SAFE) [view the full listing]

3661 N. Campbell Ave. #220
Tucson, AZ 85719

 
4posted: November 10th, 2007

SAFE Rescues Soldiers' Animals


Mommy and I have never been here, but we are in awe of one of their primary goals: to save pets' of soldiers who are being sent overseas. Here's what their website has to say "One of the most important things we do is to rescue animals for soldiers from Ft. Huachuca, who have been deployed to Iraq, and Afganistan. We are the only shelter doing that, at the moment.If we did not bring these animals in (and there are WAY too many of them), they are euthanized (put down) within a day or two of rescue. Most of the soldier's dogs are well behaved, well trained and as traumatized as the soldiers who have to leave them behind." Hooray for SAFE for stepping up when no one else did.

 

Posh Pets By C [view the full listing]

136 Blough Road
Fairles Hills, PA 19030

 
5posted: June 11th, 2007


Boogers is so right: Posh Pets ROCKS!

2 out of 2 pets found this review helpful

 

All for Pets Petsitting [view the full listing]


Mesa, AZ 85202
(480) 649-7280

 
5edited: November 10th, 2007

The Only Pet Sitters My Mommy Trusts!


Run by the fabulous Jackie with assistance from her husband, Gregg, All for Pets is an amazing pet sitting business. They are, of course, insured and bonded and members of Pet Sitters International. They don't contract out their labor like some of these organizations seem to do, so you know exactly who will be in your home and how they interact with your pets too thanks to a free "get acquainted" visit. Jackie ADORES animals and she's great with them: she'll spend extra time with the animals during thunderstorms and her primary goal is to keep the animals in her care happy and healthy: that means she's also an expert at giving medications. She used to be one of my Needle Ladies and she often brought me fresh catnip and treats too. Jackie is very busy, so have your Mommy call her with lots of advanced notice. I know my Mommy will when she has to leave me: Jackie will be her first phone call. If you're in the Phoenix Metro area (East Valley), contact Jackie for all your pet sitting needs.

posted: April 30th, 2007

1 pet found this review helpful

 

West Suburban Humane Society [view the full listing]

1901 W. Ogden Avenue
Downers Grove, IL 60515
63096096

 
5posted: March 10th, 2007

What's Not to Love?


WSHS is a small facility off a busy road that started as a lost and found service for missing dogs and cats. It has grown into an amazing no-kill shelter: it's where Mommy found me! Because it's a small facility, the animals do live in rather small cages, but they get ample exercise time in the yard (dogs) and in offices and large meet 'n greet cages (cats). WSHS does live up to it's name as a no-kill shelter, and does a great job of caring for its animals. It's completely upfront about the care needs of various pets and has a rigorous match-making process to ensure that the right person and the right animal go home together. In the west suburbs of Chicago? Stop by the West Suburban Humane Society!

1 pet found this review helpful

 

Maricopa County Animal Care & Control - East Valley Animal Care Center [view the full listing]

2630 West 8th Street
Mesa, AZ 85201
(602) 506-PETS

 
2edited: March 10th, 2007

Visit County for Services but Adopt Elsewhere


Make no mistakes: this is "the pound" for the East Valley. The euthanasia rate is high, the facility is not terribly clean, the animals receive little socialization, and there are no guarantees about the health of the animals you find here. They're not all bad, though: they're up front about their policies, and they shelter lost animals for at least three days before euthanasia is considered. If your pet is lost, check here DAILY! Their low-cost programs are also highly useful if you can't afford a "regular" vets fees (which are often astronomical) for spaying and neutering. However, if you're looking to adopt, you're better off heading to one of the other shelters in the Phoenix area. Many of them obtain their animals from the euthanasia list at County, so the more animals that are adopted out of these shelters, the more at-risk animals can be whisked away from County. By patronizing local shelters, you can send a message that no-kill/low-kill is the way to go, and you also have a better guarantee of having a healthy animal pick you. There are fewer unpleasant surprises with no-kill/low-kill shelters.

posted: March 10th, 2007

2 out of 2 pets found this review helpful

 

AZCats [view the full listing]

225 W. University Dr. Suite 103
Tempe, AZ 85281
(480) 968-4TNR

 
5posted: February 22nd, 2007

Hooray for TNR!


AZCats isn't a shelter as such, but they're the best friend feral cats can have. AZCats traps, neuters, and returns feral cats to their territory to humanely help combat cat overpopulation, which leads to homeless pets. This past year, they actually set a record for their preventative work, fixing 1200 cats in a single month! AZCats also partners with local shelters: when a tame cat or kitten is discovered, they help that animal get into the shelter system, providing it a chance for a home rather than a life on the streets. Five paws up for this furbulous contribution to the feline community!

1 pet found this review helpful

 

HALO Animal Rescue [view the full listing]

4630 N. Seventh Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85046
60297192

 
5posted: February 22nd, 2007

A Non-Traditional but PAWSOME Rescue Group


HALO was founded by two people who wanted to make a difference. They operate primarily out of their homes and through foster programs, and they partner with other shelters to make sure their animals are spayed and neutered. HALO is really an inspiration in the animal community and a testament to what individuals can accomplish: they now show their pets at no less than five PetSmart locations daily. My Mommy has volunteered in the shelter system for years now and says that HALO is one of the best rescues out there. They take fantastic care of their animals and really focus on the matchmaking process when adopting out their animals. Looking for an animal in the Phoenix area? Visit HALO!

3 out of 3 pets found this review helpful

 

Ramada Limited Tempe University [view the full listing]

1915 East Apache Blvd
Tempe, AZ 85281
(480) 736-1700

 
4edited: February 22nd, 2007

Just the Basics? Ramada Fits the Bill


This is your basic hotel. The rooms are clean enough for comfort and they allow kitty cats to stay with their people. The staff is good about respecting privacy (a big concern for mommies and daddies paranoid about their pet getting out). If you're looking for luxury accommodations for your pet, this won't fit the bill but if you're looking for something basic, clean, and safe, then pop by the Tempe Ramada!

posted: February 22nd, 2007

1 pet found this review helpful

 

Arizona Humane Society Sunny Slope (Main AZHS Facility) [view the full listing]

9226 N. 13th Avenue (13th Avenue and Hatcher Road)
Phoenix, AZ 85021
60299775

 
2posted: February 9th, 2007

Humane Is a Relative Term for This Group


With their own cruelty investigator who seeks to protect animals in the Phoenix area, AZ Humane has a great start to a successful large-scale mission of mercy for the animals. Their excellent humane education programs (as well as their first-aid classes), are exceptional, which makes their euthanasia rates all the more bewildering. Their public services and PR very clearly emphasize the animals, but AZ Humane often euthanizes for a single sneeze. They might be a worth a look for their services and information, but I strongly encourage anyone in the area looking for a pet to visit one of the excellent smaller facilities that routinely rescue from Humane's euthanasia list. Giving them your support not only sends a message but also opens up new spaces in safe environments for the at-risk animals residing at Humane. What they say and what they do seem quite contradictory.

1 pet found this review helpful

 

Arizona Humane Society - NINA MASON PULLIAM CAMPUS FOR COMPASSION [view the full listing]

1521 W. Dobbins Road
Phoenix, AZ 85041
60299775

 
4edited: February 9th, 2007

If Only All Animals Qualified


The Campus for Compassion branch of the AZ Humane Society is a great idea - it has great PR and does good work saving older animals from euthanasia. So few animals qualify for this campus, however, that it seems to be more of a PR endeavor than a true compassionate clinic.

posted: February 9th, 2007

2 out of 2 pets found this review helpful

 

R.E.S.C.U.E. [view the full listing]

4747 East Elliot Road #29-415
Phoenix, AZ 85044
(480) 598-9410

 
5edited: February 7th, 2007

RESCUE Lives Up to Its Name


As close to a sanctuary as one can find in AZ, RESCUE keeps animals in their care until a home is found. Period. Euthanasia rarely occurs and some cats have been at RESCUE for years. Their animals are rescued from the pound and their emphasis on making good matches is nearly unparalleled. This is one of Phoenix's smaller shelter groups, but well worth a visit and your support.

posted: February 7th, 2007

1 out of 2 pets found this review helpful

 

Animal Referral Emergency [view the full listing]

1648 N Country Club Dr
Mesa, AZ 85201
(480) 428-8870

 
5posted: February 6th, 2007

ARECA Sets Gold Standard for Emergency Care


Open 24 hours and prepared for any emergency, ARECA is a state-of-the-art facility with a large cadre of doctors on staff with many many specialities. Their receptionists are professional, their techs are efficient, and their doctors really know their stuff. ARECA isn't cheap, but emergency care never is, but they'll work immediately to help you feel better and will explain things to your Mommy or Daddy. One of the biggest benefits of ARECA, aside from their quality care, is the extent of their communication: after you visit them, they immediately fax a report to YOUR v-e-t so that your v-e-t can continue care without any lag time or potential miscommunications. I'd rather not visit ARECA, but if I have to go somewhere late at night, there's no where else I'd rather go!

2 out of 2 pets found this review helpful

 

La Quinta Inn & Suites - Phoenix Mesa West [view the full listing]

902 W. Grove Ave.
Mesa, AZ 85210

 
5edited: February 6th, 2007

What a place!


Allowing two pets per room with reasonable rates, security, and a caring staff, La Quinta is where I want Mommy to take me whenever the power goes out. In fact, that's how I first met La Quinta: the power went out when it was 110 here and my poor little heart can't take the heat. So Mommy called and explained the situation and they got us a room right away - no advanced notice required! They even arranged for two rooms next to each other when my brothers and sisters had to join us so Mommy and Daddy could spend time with all of us and not have to go very far away. It seems so rare to fin pet-friendly hotels nowadays but La Quinta was amazing. I wasn't very scared at all because things were nice and quiet and the staff honored the "do not disturb" sign. Rock on, La Quinta!

posted: February 6th, 2007

2 out of 2 pets found this review helpful

 

Countryside Animal Hospital [view the full listing]

8701 S Rural Rd
Tempe, AZ 85284
(480) 327-6458

 
5posted: February 6th, 2007

The Most Thorough Vets in AZ!


If you know me, you know I hate going to the v-e-t. But let me tell you, if you have to go, visit Countryside! They are the most caring, knowledgeable staff that Mommy and I have worked with and since I am nearly 19, we've had a lot of experience. From their support staff (receptionists) to their groomers to their techs to their vets, you're dealing with the absolute best in the business. They're FABULOUS about communication and will take time to explain things to your Mommy and Daddy and will lay out all the options for you. They'll give you their opinion on medical options, but once you make a decision they'll support it 100% ... even if it wasn't what they'd do! Countryside is a bit pricey but well worth the money if you're feeling ookey.

2 out of 2 pets found this review helpful