GO!

Want to do some research first

If you are wondering what is the right cat for you, this is the place to be. In this introductory forum we talk about topics such as breed vs. mix, size, age, grooming, breeders, shelters, rescues as well as requirements for exercise, space and care. No question is too silly here. This particular forum is for getting and giving helpful, nice advice. It is definitely not a forum for criticizing someone else's opinion, knowledge or advice. This forum is all about purring and learning.

(Page 1 of 3: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  3  
Maverick

You will never- find my stash of- pieces!!

Purred: Tue Oct 21, '08 1:53pm PST 
Hi all!
I am a college student who is graduating in May. I am looking to adopt a cat (or two) after I am settled into an apartment and a job after graduation.
I am trying to figure out what age cat would be best for me. I have a 5 year old Yellow Lab (she'll be 6 in January) who is my service dog --she tends to be excitable around cats. She used to chase Maverick (my roommate's cat) in our apartment (though Maverick would instigate it sometimes by slapping her on the behind! laugh out loud ) She never hurt him --she just liked to chase (trying to play).
I have heard conflicting advice. Some people say I should get kittens because they will grow up around Pebbles and not run and trigger the chase response. If I do get kittens, I will keep Pebbles and the kittens separate and probably will tie Pebbles' leash to a table at first until she gets used to them (she would chase Maverick less as the novelty wore off). Pebbles would never be home with the kittens alone because she goes with me everywhere and would be with me at work.