Postings by Shade's Family

GO!

(Page 1 of 138: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Last 10 entry]  

Cat Health > New here - PLS help! Cat diagnosed w/Stg 2 Leukemia today. I'm beside myself! Do I put him to sleep?
Blackberry

Somewhere there- is love for- everyone

Purred: Sun Sep 15, '13 7:10am PST 
Hi there, I am very sorry for you having to post about this. It is very difficult and sad having to deal with something like this.

I am far from an expert on FeLV. Did the vet not explain anything to you? You are allowed to find another vet for a second opinion. Did the vet actually send out blood to be tested for FeLV? I would also call back and ask for a full explanation of the blood work results; ideally she should have given you a copy and you are allowed to ask to see them. Your vet should be interested in saving your pet, not quick to put him down without even explaining the situation thoroughly to you. If she really feels that your cat can't be saved, then she should still seem totally involved and be at least somewhat compassionate about the situation.

A good question to ask yourself when you are considering euthanising an animal is does he have any quality of like left? Does he eat, does he purr when you rub him? Does he seem like he is in pain most of the time?

You said that he eats his wet food, not the dry. Ditch the dry, it's bad for cats anyway and let him eat any canned food that he likes. Has he lost a lot of weight? Will he eat any treats?

He is very young, and may not be able to be saved, but if you at all feel unsure of euthanising him at this point, then you should explore seeking out a different vet. Also, there are anti-viral medications out there for cats. I don't know how effective they are onf FeLV though.

Good luck to you and Billy!

BB's mom
[notify]

» There has since been 5 posts. Last posting by Mikko, Sep 15 2:00 pm

Food & Nutrition > This has to do with food!
Shade

My name is not- Kittyfloss!