Postings by Dolores's Family

GO!

(Page 1 of 3: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  3  

Raw Food Diet > new to the raw diet :)
Cosmo

Purred: Fri May 6, '11 12:15am PST 
Hi, Inka, don't feel bad, it's a new thing and you're bound to make some mistakes. I'm new to the raw diet as well and while I am only giving my kitties raw meat and organs--no veggies, no grains--I have been cheating a bit with canned tuna and salmon in an effort to get them to eat. We are all very new at this in my house and there is some resistance as well as inexperience! In the short term you haven't done your kitty any harm but the whole point of a raw diet is that grains and veggies are bad for Kitty and yet that's what's in most commercial cat foods. The website I have found most helpful for info on transitioning to raw is:

www.feline-nutrition.org

and if you can't find a pet store nearby that sells raw diet components, try:

www.onlynaturalpet.com
Good luck!!
[notify]

» There has since been 2 posts. Last posting by Olivia, Tanner, & Finn, May 26 10:29 am

Raw Food Diet > Bacon for fat?
Dolores

Purred: Fri May 6, '11 12:02am PST 
Just had to pop in and say "Butter!makes perfect sense!" My cats loooooove it when I melt butter for recipes but if I pour any onto a plate they only take a few licks--it's like they are self-limiting with it. I never thought of adding a little to their raw diet for fat (mine aren't eating skin yet, either). Brilliant!
[notify]

» There has since been 0 posts. Last posting by Dolores, May 6 12:02 am

Raw Food Diet > eating less

Laszlo

Purred: Thu May 5, '11 11:56pm PST