GO!

Do male and female cats still mate if both of them are fixed?

This forum is for cat lovers seeking everyday advice and suggestions on health-related issues. Remember, however, that advice on a public forum simply can't be a substitute for proper medical attention. Only your vet can say assuredly what is best for your cat.

(Page 1 of 2: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  
Kitty Mongoose

Bringing Back- Old Fashion Sass

Purred: Thu May 11, '06 9:17am PST 
Hi I am thinking of getting another cat for a companion for my Kitty. But I was wondering if I get a male cat, will there be spraying going on inside my apartment? Or does spraying stop once both the male and female are fixed? Also, if the male is neutered, will he still try to mate? My Kitty is a female, is it better to get a female or male companion for her? Or no difference?
[notify]

Diego

I'm bringing- sexy back

Purred: Thu May 11, '06 9:36am PST 
I am no expert but lets see..... Mom had LuLu (girl) for 8 years before I came along. She was spayed early on. I (boy) came along and was fixed before I ever came into the house. LuLu sprayed only prior to being fixed and never after. I never sprayed. We live together as play friends and no mating has ever been attempted.

I was also mom's first boy kitty ever. She was nervous and didn't know what to expect but now she thinks boy kitties are the best.

I hope this helps a bit.
[notify]

Kali

This is MY house- and MY house- ONLY!

Purred: Thu May 11, '06 12:05pm PST 
Hi Kitty and Diego!

I had four cats; 2 boys and 2 girls. We fixed them all. One of the boys would still mount the girls and.... (you know) But we always made him stop! So I guess it all depends on the cat. My cat Rosy was fixed and would still go into a fake 'heat', rolling all over the floor and yoweling! You never know!

Purrs and Kitty Kisses
[notify]

Kali

This is MY house- and MY house- ONLY!

Purred: Thu May 11, '06 12:07pm PST