GO!

New to raw

This is a dedicated place for all of your questions and answers about Raw Diets. There are also some really cool groups like "Raw Fed" on the topic you can join. This forum is for people who already know they like the raw diet or sincerely want to learn more. Please remember that you are receiving advice from peers and not professionals. If you have specific health-related questions about your cat's diet, please contact your vet!

Joey

Purred: Sat Apr 5, '14 12:56pm PST 
I am new to raw feeding and looking to connect with other, more experienced raw feeders.
I have decided to feed ground raw with a pre-mix for their main meals and offer them chunks of meat, heart and gizzard for their teeth. (I am interested in chicken necks as well but not sure where to get them and the young one has had chicken wing tips)

The good: They have taken to it well! They LOVE it. They have been on 90% canned only for years anyway. No real transition needed, but I did start offering them small amounts and worked up to meals (it has only been about a month since they started).
It is actually a lot cheaper than feeding two cats canned only.

The concerns:
I am paranoid someone is going to get sick, either from bacteria or a bone slicing their GI tract. I have searched for horror stories on the net but can't find any (just those who say don't do it but don't back it up with anything real)
I am paranoid the diet won't be balanced.
The young cat Mac has no heath concerns and Joey who will be 17 yrs old next month is generally healthy (heart, kidneys, thyroid, etc) but is on a low dose of prednisolone for eosinophilic keratitis. Some say don't feed raw to cats on steroids, others say they haven't had a problem.
So far everything has gone well, I don't understand why I am so nervous with all the success stories I have seen!
[notify]

Merlin - An Angel- Forever

*Poof*

Purred: Sat Apr 5, '14 6:24pm PST