GO!

New to raw, excited and nervous!

This is a dedicated place for all of your questions and answers about Raw Diets. There are also some really cool groups like "Raw Fed" on the topic you can join. This forum is for people who already know they like the raw diet or sincerely want to learn more. Please remember that you are receiving advice from peers and not professionals. If you have specific health-related questions about your cat's diet, please contact your vet!

(Page 1 of 2: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  

Purred: Wed May 15, '13 10:28am PST 
I've grown up with cats my whole life, but now I'm a young adult and my fiance and I have adopted our first kitten--well, she sort of fell into our hands, I work as a vet tech and someone abandoned a 2 week old kitten at my job. I hand raised her and now she's weaning.

I've been looking into raw, despite the fact that my bosses think it's crazy and that I or my cat will die of e-coli or whatever.

Though I DO Have concerns. This kitten was found by herself on the side of the road. Since there were no other kittens near by, there is a high chance she was an abandoned runt. She is quite small for her age, about half the size she should be. Added to that, who knows how long she had been alone before she was found. Now she's about 7 weeks old, and has started eating wet food(high quality, grain free, etc) but I've been still giving her a bowl of kitten milk replacement to just give her some extra bump in nutrition. She's also getting lysine powder daily.

So I know that raw tends to help an immune system, and raw food risks are low because of that high immune system, but what about a cat with an already high chance of getting sick? Her immune system is still developing and obviously already taken a huge beating.

Should I wait til she's a bit older? Should I start now but slowly? What can I do to keep this as easy on her as possible, while preventing any infection risk?