GO!

Want to start on homemade raw, but I have some knowledge gaps

This is a dedicated place for all of your questions and answers about Raw Diets. There are also some really cool groups like "Raw Fed" on the topic you can join. This forum is for people who already know they like the raw diet or sincerely want to learn more. Please remember that you are receiving advice from peers and not professionals. If you have specific health-related questions about your cat's diet, please contact your vet!

Basketball

Bouncing Around

Purred: Tue Jun 5, '12 2:57pm PST 
So I spent most of this week, while pretending to work, researching raw diet online. I was first introduced to the idea about 2 years ago, by a holistic-focused vet. I did some very shallow research and dismissed the idea because at the time for my 3 cats, the idea honestly just seemed daunting. Recently, though, I read an article written by a woman who finally got her cats to make the switch after a YEAR LONG transition. This got my attention because at least 2 of my cats are literally obsessed with raw food. I throw them table scraps when I am cooking on occasion and they have drag-out fights over the last piece. Then they won't eat canned food until they are starving, holding out for more raw. It seems nature is giving me a hint.

I am going to try to give them their breakfast tomorrow raw, and see how it goes. I don't plan on transitioning them completely, as I am not prepared yet to ensure they are getting a balanced diet.

If I buy a chicken and just put a bunch of pieces parts in a bowl...is that all there is too it (discounting suppliments for now). What about the liver/heart? Would they just eat that? I am not concerned so much about germs, as I accept that cats are built for different diets than humans. I spend $130 a month on premium canned food, and if I can reduce that in addition to creating a more natural diet for my cats, I am all in.

Edited by author Tue Jun 5, '12 2:59pm PST

[notify]