GO!

Raw Diet Advice

This is a dedicated place for all of your questions and answers about Raw Diets. There are also some really cool groups like "Raw Fed" on the topic you can join. This forum is for people who already know they like the raw diet or sincerely want to learn more. Please remember that you are receiving advice from peers and not professionals. If you have specific health-related questions about your cat's diet, please contact your vet!

(Page 1 of 2: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  
Marley

Purred: Thu Aug 4, '11 5:10pm PST 
I have been feeding my cat a raw diet since I've had him for about three months now. He took right to it and was doing great with it up until a couple nights ago. Somehow something he ate got stuck in his throat. I'm thinking a piece of bone. He was not choking but was pawing at his mouth and making motions of gagging. He went on to eat the rest of his meal but went on with pawing his mouth occasionally throughout the night. He had no problems breathing and was still active. The next morning he was begging for food like always and ate as usual but he still continued with the gagging/pawing motions. I called my vet to bring him in but they had no openings that day. They told me that since we was still eating and breathing normally then I should just wait and see how he does. I called two other vets and they basically told me the same thing. That night he wouldn't eat and was very uneasy and just slept a lot. I brought him in first thing this morning to get checked out due to this behavior. They saw nothing in his throat but said it did look irritated and was slightly swollen. They gave me some antibiotics for him. He ate again tonight so he seems to be coming around again.