GO!

Best meats for cats???

This is a dedicated place for all of your questions and answers about Raw Diets. There are also some really cool groups like "Raw Fed" on the topic you can join. This forum is for people who already know they like the raw diet or sincerely want to learn more. Please remember that you are receiving advice from peers and not professionals. If you have specific health-related questions about your cat's diet, please contact your vet!

Nala

Purred: Mon Jul 23, '07 2:23am PST 
i feed raw to my pups and am getting nala set up to start... what are the best meats, what are the onjes to avoid, and are their any supplements that need to be added, will they get enough taurine? I am new to cats in general, so i don't want to screw her up.. she is very healthy, so that is a good start smile

right now, she is being weaned off kibble with grain free wellness. i am going to try NV medallions once we go through the two cans I got...

also, portion sizes... she is a small cat, and I am used to feeding 45 pound dogs... about how much should I be giving her?

and, is it ok to leave kibble out for her until she is consistant? I have alot left, so i don't want to waste it, either, but if it comes down to it, i can give it to a friend that will never ever be convinced to go raw... (it's kirklan maintenance..)

Also, why do even the grain free wet foods include so many veggies in a diet for an animal that is classified as an obligate carnivore?

sorry so many questions in one thread... but who wants to see my face on a 100 new threads smile
[notify]

KarmaSutra

Scratch RIGHT- here!!!

Purred: Mon Jul 23, '07 12:25pm PST 
Our crew tries to stay away from fatty meats...like beef and pork. We eat fish, chicken, turkey,quail, chukar,rabbit, pheasant,goose,elk, goat and lamb. We really love the elk meat!cloud 9
Hearts are a great source of taurine! We get an organ blend twice a week.