GO!

Should I get littermates?

Got a new, young, furry love in your life? This is the place for you to ask all of your questions - big or small! Just remember that you are receiving advice from other cat owners and lovers... not professionals. If you have a major problem, always seek the advice of a vet or behaviorist! Most important is to remember to have fun with your new fur baby.

Purred: Sun Nov 24, '13 9:17pm PST 
Hello all. I am new to cat forums, but I had a question I would love to hear answers about. I am planning on getting a kitten. I spoke with a lady who has 3 boys available. At first I was planning on only getting one, but then I thought two is better so they have a buddy when I am not home etc. Then I saw a picture of all three boys together, and my heart was saying take all three! Financially I am capable of caring for them, Im worried 3 kittens will just be a handful. My household consists of two dogs and three adults including myself. Ive only ever had two cats at once. How much harder is a third kitten going to be? Is my heart out of its mind?! Lol. Thank you for any information and advice you give.
[notify]

Trek

Monster of- Mayhem

Purred: Wed Nov 27, '13 12:02pm PST 
Three kittens can definitely be a handful. I fostered three littermates (and kept 2 of them), but because they are littermates, they will occupy each other with very little assistance from the rest of you. The two that I kept often curl up together and sleep or take turns grooming each other. Assuming they get along well, I'd say go for it.
[notify]

QGM- Harlequin- (Striped- Seven)

I am a show- champion!

Purred: Thu Nov 28, '13 9:46pm PST 
Yeah if you can handle three I would say go for it!
Kittens do much better with a playmate, so it's always better to get a pair. In fact some shelters I know will only adopt out kittens in pairs unless the person already has another young playful cat at home.