GO!

Home made cat food!!! Beginner! Help!

This is the place to share your best homemade cat food and treat recipes with each other! Remember to use caution if your pet has allergies and to make any diet changes gradually so that your cat's stomach can adjust to the new foods you are introducing.

Hazel Basil

The most polite- cat in Germany

Purred: Sun Jan 8, '12 10:53pm PST 
Hello!!! I have done a lot of reading/research on making my own cat food. I am a bit nervous because I don't want my cats to miss out of any nutrition they might need and I've never done it before so I am a bit lost. First there is the decision between raw and cooked food. I am a but nervous to do the whole raw thing since there might be bacterias or other harmful things in uncooked food so I get nervous about that. What is the better option and why? Cooked or raw? Can I do both? Is there a good cook book for cat food out there for cats? I've only come across one website advertising a cook book but I would like to have options if they're out there. The next issue is I have an almost three year old cat and an almost 7 year old cat. Are the too old to start them on homemade food? Is it something you have to start them on as kittens or can they get used to it as adult cats? I know it upsets there systems when you switch food so I am afraid if I switch over to homemade food it will do a number on their kitty tummies. Also my cats have been strictly dry food kitties with a once a week wet can of food as a snack which neither of them seem too excited about but eat I think just to make me happy lol! Are any cat foods made at home hardened so it emulates the dry store bought food? I really want to make my own cat food but I am so nervous about it ! Thanks and have a great week!kitty
[notify]

BK

Ambassador at- the Kitty U.N.

Purred: Tue Jan 10, '12 10:15am PST