GO!

Matts Matts and more Matts!

Good grooming practices are essential for maintaining health and happiness for you and your cat. This is a forum to exchange tips and advice for proper care of your cat's hygiene needs.

(Page 1 of 4: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  3  4  
Sonny

Luvin life out- of the shelter

Purred: Tue May 18, '10 8:36pm PST 
I am hoping to get some advice on getting matts out. Sonny has such thick beautiful hair but is still at that kitten stage where he won't let me near him with a brush and when I try to cut them out he tries to play with the scissors.

Any suggestions?
[notify]

P.C.

aka, Squeeker,- Toeboy or- Perfict Cat

Purred: Wed May 19, '10 2:05am PST 
I was a Pro groomer for 12 years, and I have found that using a plastic letter opener will help get through any hair knots or mats. This a a pic of what I am talking about;
http://www.officeworld.com/Worlds-Biggest-Selection/WEVCOA12 /10Q1/
Just run it through and comb out with a metal comb . This way you will not cut little kitty toes or skin!
Good Luck
[notify]

Ch.- Posiepurrs- Solidago

Purred: Wed May 19, '10 2:55am PST 
Use a greyhound type comb instead of a brush. A brush will not go through a long thick coat - just gets the top layer of fur. The underneath hair will mat and felt. You have to be consistent with combing for the cat to tolerate it. Offer some type of reward so the cat will link it with grooming. Mine all get a treat or some baby food.
[notify]

Sonny

Luvin life out- of the shelter

Purred: Wed May 19, '10 9:14pm PST 
Ok thanks I will check out the letter opener and try the treat deal with him. The hardest ones are going to be the ones between his legs. The only good thing if you call it that is that you can't see the matts but when you pet him they are like hard lumps. They don't seem to bother him but they sure bother me! naughty
[notify]

P.C.

aka, Squeeker,- Toeboy or- Perfict Cat

Purred: Wed May 19, '10 10:30pm PST 
I agree with