GO!

My kitty has Hepatic lipidosis

This forum is for cat lovers seeking everyday advice and suggestions on health-related issues. Remember, however, that advice on a public forum simply can't be a substitute for proper medical attention. Only your vet can say assuredly what is best for your cat.

(Page 1 of 2: Viewing entries 1 to 10)  
Page Links: 1  2  

Purred: Tue Oct 9, '12 8:27am PST 
Hello,

This is my first time posting on Catster, I used to be active in Dogster, but not anymore.

I just dropped my sweet kitty Pickle off at her vet this morning. The vet is pretty sure she has fatty liver disease. This is how it happened:

Pickle disappeared for several days and we could not find her. I don't know where her secret hiding place was, but we eventually found her under my roommate's bed the third day she was missing. She was skinny and I could feel her hip and shoulder bones. I tried to get her to eat, both wet and dry food, but she was uninterested. She would drink very little and only if I held the bowl up to her or dabbed a little on her whiskers with my finger.

They have her on an IV at the moment to rehydrate her and are going to try to get her to eat something soon. She was very jaundiced and her pee was a neon orange.

I'd just like to hear from others that have experienced this and had their cats survive. What did you have to go through, how long did it take for them to return to normal, etc... I'm pretty distraught and could use some success stories.

Thank you.

Krysti
[notify]

Alex (sweet- angel girl)

Angel on a- mission!

Purred: Tue Oct 9, '12 9:39am PST