GO!

Being considered for walks.

This is a place to gain some understanding of cat behavior and to assist people in training their cats and dealing with common behavior problems, regardless of the method(s) used. Keep in mind that you may be receiving advice from other cat owners and lovers...not professionals. If you have a major problem, always seek the advice of a trainer or behaviorist!

Kosmo

Sharp Dressed- Man

Purred: Mon Jan 16, '12 11:26am PST 
Hi all, Kosmo and me are fairly new to Catster and did a search on this topic but couldn't quite get the results we wanted...probably due to being unfamiliar with this site. Apologies if this has been covered already : )

I'm considering taking Kosmo out for regular strolls outside. I have no experience in helping a cat learn to do this, so any advice or tips as to where to start and what equipment I'll need would be great. Kosmo loves looking out all the windows and has already been outside in my arms a several times to get some fresh air and to see and hear new things. He seems to really enjoy it and is very calm but doesn't seem especially eager to be outside otherwise and has never tried to 'escape' my apartment. I just think he might like to explore the world a little more because he's so curious about everything else.

How do cats benefit from going on short daily walks? Are they just as happy with 'not knowing' about the outside world? I don't want to stress Kosmo out unnecessarily if he doesn't enjoy being outside.

Thoughts?
[notify]

Arthur (Miss- You!- '93-'09)

Bucket of Fuzz

Purred: Tue Jan 17, '12 4:33pm PST 
Welcome to Catster, Kosmo!welcome

We've had cats in the family who loved walks and some who were too scared of the outdoors.