Smokey


Breed Unknown
Picture of Smokey, a male Breed Unknown

Photo Comments

Home:West Deptford, NJ  
Age: 13 Years   Sex: Male   Weight: 12 lbs.

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

Photo Comments

   Leave a treat for Smokey

Nicknames:
Smokers, Smokey-smoke

Kitty Complexion:
 Activeness 
sleepyvery active
 
 Intelligence 
sillygenius
 
 Curiosity 
not curiousvery curious
 
 Friendliness 
timidaffectionate
 
 Vocal 
not vocalvery vocal
 

Coloration:
Brown Tabby

Likes:
I love: when people smush my face, treats, curling up next to my Momma when she get into bed at night, Mom trying to put new sheets on the bed, & scratching on screen windows.

Pet-Peeves:
I hate: when Charlie is spending too much time with Mom, not being able to get the birds outside, being picked up, taking my medicine, being squirted with the water bottle (for scratching on the screen windows).

Favorite Toy:
A red feather attached to a long black stick. But, mostly I am far too dignified for playing!

Favorite Nap Spot:
One of the chairs in the livingroom.

Favorite Food:
Hard Iams, original formula. Sometimes milk or vanilla icecream. (I'm very picky.)

Skills:
Well, I'm at pretty smart cat, even if I do say so myself. I know my name and come running when Mom calls me. (I also know the words 'hungry' and 'treats.') I am very good at tricking Charlie into leaving Mom's lap so that I can have a turn.

Dwells:
indoors

Arrival Story:
I was born to a fiesty siren named Jezebel. My future Human-Dad and Human-Mom came by to see us when we were only a week old. Charlie was really little and sickly. Dad told Mom that if Charlie survived, he would let her take Charlie home. When they came back to visit a few weeks later, Charlie was still alive. He and I were the only un-adopted kittens left. Dad couldn't just take Charlie and leave me there alone, so they adopted us both. I know it seems like the only reason I was adopted is because they felt bad to take Charlie and not me. But, I know that Charlie only survived because I took such good care of him. We've been watching out for each other ever since!

Bio:
I am the big big brother in the house, and I work hard at taking care of my little brother, Charlie. (I clean him and occasionally boss him around.) I'm a very sensitive, cautious kitty. When strangers come around, I try to sit on Mom's lap so that I can protect her. When I was two, I became very sick. I lost a lot of weight and was napping all day. Eventually all I wanted to do was lay on a pile of clothes in my Momma's closet. One day, I couldn't get enough strength together to greet my Mom at the door when she got home from work! The next day, she took me to the doctor. The doctor said I was anemic and my white blood cell count was dangerously low. I hated going to the doctor, but was too weak to put up much of a fight. Things weren't looking very good, I guess, because Momma was crying a lot and being extra nice to me. Dr. Fargher prescribed steroids and antibiodics, but I heard that her say that there wasn't much hope. But, as the days went by, I felt better and better! Pretty soon I was eating again, and chasing Charlie. For awhile, I forgot that I had been sick at all! But, when I was almost about to turn 3, I became sick again! This time my Mom took me to University of Penn animal hospital, where Dr. Peter Chapman gave me the best care and treatment I've ever had! At that hospital, they took lots of blood and did lots of tests. Mom said she was doing everything for me that she could afford to do, and a lot that she really couldn't afford. Dr. Chapman said that it could be a few different things making me sick... either I had a bad liver, or a tumor, or both. He told my mom to give me those darn steroids and antibiodics again, and I'd either get better or slowly get worse, until, well... thankfully I've been getting better. Anyway, Mom hasn't taken me back to see Dr. Chapman in awhile, I've been eating, and I've been chasing Charlie around the house more than ever. Now if only I could get outside to chase those birds!

Lives Remaining:
6 of 9

The Groups I'm In:
FANCYPANTS CAFE

I've Been On Catster Since:
August 8th 2004 More than 10 years!

Rosette, Star and Special Gift History

Catster Id:
57657


Meet my family
Charlie

Meet my Feline Friends
See all my Feline Friends
See all my Feline Friends