Crystal Gibson

I’m a Canadian expat in France who graduated from the University of Western Ontario with a double major in English Literature and French Linguistics. When I’m not writing or taking gratuitous photos of my pets, I enjoy travelling with my French husband, reading books on dog psychology, and drinking wine in cafés.

I couldn’t imagine my life without pets, and the older I get, the more I want to dedicate my life to caring for them, writing about them, photographing them, and volunteering to help those in need.

Full Name (Including Embarrassing Second Names): Crystal Gibson (Gibson is my maiden name, but I also have a secret French married name)

Location: Small town in the French Alps via Paris via the north of France via Ontario, Canada

Where You Can Find Me on the Internet: I recently joined Twitter, and I still have no idea what I’m doing. I also have a blog about my life in France

What I Do for a Living: Currently, I am a stay-at-home pet mom of 4, but before that, I was a business English trainer in France and have worked in tourism

What I Do for Fun: I like to travel as much as I can, hike, walk my dog and volunteer with animal associations

The Furry Members of My Household Are: In descending order by weight: Noé, a pleasantly plump ginger tabby; Pinch, a Doxie-Pin and the center of my universe; The Nudists -- my Sphynx cats, Skinny Mini & Fly

My Favorite Things to Write About Are: My pets and my expat life in France

My Pet Peeves Are: Misuse of your/you’re … I have unfriended people on Facebook for that

My Guilty Pleasures Are: Reality TV, French pastries, correcting people’s grammar, hiding snacks from my husband so he won’t find them and eat them all

How I Deal with Cat/Dog Hair: I sweep up the tumbleweeds every day, but I think I’m going to start collecting Noé’s fur to knit sweaters with it for my sphynx cats

What I Want to Be When I Grow Up: Taller

Stories by Crystal Gibson